Weekly Biscuit: The Great Nutella Challenge

And so continues the ode to Nutella—chocolate, milk and hazelnut food of the Gods.

I stocked up on pie pumpkins at Lidl today.  SO excited to find them!  I brought them home, baked them, peeled them and pureed them in the food processor.  I am going to freeze most of the puree for Thanksgiving and Christmas pies and such but I had to make a batch of these pumpkin cookies that just are autumn in one bite, not to mention tradition.  I only apologize that I am not mailing them to everyone I know this year-I am just not convinced they would make it fast enough.   Maybe now you could make your own and give some to a stranger or a friend :}  In a flash of pure genius I put a couple of teaspoons of Nutella in the glaze–why it took me this many years to do that I don’t know.  Also, I was almost out of cinnamon–scandalous I know, but I put in 1/4 tsp each of cloves and ginger to make up for my lacking tsp of cinnamon.   Quite festive and delicious!

Vanishing Pumpkin Cookies

2 1/2 C all purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

2 tsp cinnamon [or 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp ground cloves and 1/4 tsp ground ginger]

1 tsp. ground nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/2 C butter softened [or 1/4 C applesauce and 1/4 C butter]

1 C real pumpkin

1 large egg

2 tsp. vanilla extract

{drizzle of honey for added flavor and moistness}

Glaze–Recipe follows

Directions:  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F [around 177 C]  Grease baking sheets or set down parchment.  Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt in medium bowl.  Beat sugar and butter in large mixer bowl until well blended.  Beat pumpkin, egg and vanilla extract until smooth.  Gradually beat in flour mixture.  {I chill them a bit before baking} Drop by rounded  tablespoon onto prepared  baking sheets. Bake for 15-18 minutes or until edges are firm.  Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; rempve to wire racks to cool completely.  Drizzle glaze over cookies.

For Glaze:  Combine 2 cups sifted powdered sugar, 3 T milk, 1 T melted butter and 1 tsp vanilla extract [and 2 tsp nutella] beat in small bowl till smooth.

Leave a Reply

